Monday, January 28, 2013

Book Review: Winter White (Belles #2), by Jen Calonita

Winter White (Belles #2), by Jen Calonita
Isabelle Scott and Mirabelle Monroe are still reeling from the revelation that they share more than just the roof over their heads. The media has pounced on their story and the girls are caught up in a flurry of talk-show appearances and newspaper interviews. They've put on a happy public face, but someone is leaking their true feelings to the press, and while it seems like the world is watching their every move, at least they have each other.

But with cotillion season right around the corner, Izzie and Mira have barely had time to process their newfound sisterhood. Mira has dreamed of making her debut in a gorgeous white gown forever-now, if only she could find an escort. Izzie, meanwhile, is still struggling to find her place in Emerald Cove and it's seeming ever more impossible with EC mean-girls, young and old, doing their best to keep her down. As cotillion preparations heat up, though, there are dance steps to learn, manners to perfect... and secret initiations to complete? As if sophomore year wasn't hard enough!

It's time for the gowns to go on and the gloves to come off. 

Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Poppy; 1 edition (October 9, 2012)

My Review:



I absolutely love this series.  I can't wait for the next book to come out. If you are a fan of Pretty Little Liars, you will probably like the Belles series as well.  Calonita writes a delicious drama full of betrayal, lies, and loyalty.

Izzie and Mira are back in this charming southern drama series.  The scandal from the first book has made the girls put aside their differences and seek comfort in their new found camaraderie.  I love the relationship between the two girls, and the way they balance each other out.  They need each other to weather the storms that this book holds!

There is a little bit of romance in these books, but only a tiny bit and it is very clean.  The cotillion initiation and the ups and downs that come with it are fantastic fun.  The books are mostly about the two girls and their relationships with each other and the people around them.  High society is always fun to read about, especially when one of the main characters is a newbie to that life.

This is a sweet, contemporary coming of age story.

About the Author:
Jen Calonita has always loved writing. Her first published piece was in the sixth grade newspaper where she wrote about an attack snake who bothered her canoe on a class field trip. These days she writes about teen drama, relationships and romance.

An entertainment journalist for ten years, Jen interviewed everyone from Reese Witherspoon to Zac Efron. It was her work in the entertainment world that inspired her first series, Secrets of My Hollywood Life. The six-book series is about a teen starlet named Kaitlin Burke who grows weary of the fame game, but loves being an actress. The series has been published in Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Japan and Russia.

Jen has also published two stand-alone novels. Booklist called Sleepaway Girls: "The picture-perfect setting, the sweet little kids, the seductive freedom from parents, and the lure of adult-like responsibility make this the perfect read-alike to suggest to fans of Ann Brashares' Traveling Pants series."
Reality Check is about best friends who get their own reality TV show. Booklist said: "Fans of Meg Cabot's Airhead series and Calonita's Secrets of My Hollywood Life will eat this fun, timely, cautionary tale right up."

Her latest series is Belles. The series is about two Southern girls and one life-changing secret. The second book in the series, Winter White, will be out in October 2012.

When the self-professed entertainment junkie is not working, she can be found doing one of three things: scrapbooking, watching Glee, or going to the movies. Jen resides in Merrick, New York with her husband Mike, sons Tyler and Dylan, and their Chihuahua, Captain Jack Sparrow.

For more about Jen, check out her website:, follow her on Twitter at: as JenCalonita, Pinterest as Jen Calonita or on Facebook at: Pin It

No comments: